She’ll come back as fire, to burn all the liars

The first time I heard Nirvana was during two weeks just outside Bordeaux on a french exchange where they were constantly being played on the radio. I wasn’t even consciously listening and it was only when my exchangee’s sister asked me if I liked them that I realised I’d been wondering round humming Rape Me all day. Timing wise I now understand the reason they were all over the radio was because of Kurt’s death a few months prior and people kept ringing in to request them. It’s been a while since I’ve listened to them properly, the last time would have been around the release of With The Lights Out but a recent announcement from Sub Pop about a Bleach reissue had me looking around for preorders and I found that Nevermind, In Utero and Unplugged in NY are also being reissued at the end of this year.

In UteroSo why have I just gone out and bought a copy of In Utero when I could have waited on what should have been a better version a few months later? Reading through various forums about the ORG reissues I heard about a German press of the album that was supposed to feature Steve Albini’s original mix of the album before it was tampered with on record label/band authority depending on whose story you choose to believe. So after looking up thrilling facts about the matrix numbers (A33 9124 536 S1/S2 320) it appears that the album was mis-pressed twice, once in 1993 and again in 2008 which may explain why the 60th vinyl anniversary ‘Back to Black’ version I picked up is listed as only being available in Germany.

Is it worth rushing out to buy? The only apparent differences to my ears are Heart Shaped Box which now has a cool effect over the solo and All Apologies which seems to feature both the cello and vocals lower in the mix but it’s well known that these were re-mixed by Scott Litt as stated in the liner notes, all the other songs sound the same to my memory although a full back to back listen against the cd would prove this. The cover seems to have been blown up from a low resolution copy and doesn’t look as good as it should, especially the back, plus the inlay notes still credit Gallons Of Rubbing Alcohol Flow Through The Strip despite it not featuring on the vinyl, hopefully the new versions coming will be done with a bit more care. Other than that, it’s a nice black 180g version with a download coupon for mp3 versions and still widely available so quite cheap.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

3 Comments on “She’ll come back as fire, to burn all the liars”

  1. Evan Says:

    I have the albini mix on mp3 if you want it.

    I also have a rare as hen’s teeth white vinyl version of Bleach. 1000 only. The rarest of all their albums on vinyl. Go me!

    • Justin Says:

      Thanks but I’ll pass there’s nothing to suggest it’s radically different, I’m pretty sure this vinyl version is the one and I think I’ve had all the In Utero I can handle for a while.

      Damn you on Bleach, damn you to hell.

  2. Evan Says:

    I had a green vinyl Bleach aas well. 1500. Sold it for £125 when I had no job


Leave a Reply

